Bridget Jones scenario in Cairo

Standard

Some strange things happen to me in Egypt.

Yesterday I went shopping and on my way back home I received a call from my boyfriend asking for a lease contract for my flat. Hmmmm.

–   Why do you need it? – I asked

–    The policemen are here and they are asking for it – was his response.

When you hear something like that you start panicking – no matter that you know you did no bad. Thousands of thoughts in my head: I have no work permit, they got my address from the paper I filled in when I crossed the border; they found my blog (I know this one is ridiculous); I live with a boyfriend in a Muslim country where it is a sin.  So I was going crazy in a cab and tried calling my boyfriend to find out what really happened there. He was not picking up for obvious reasons as he was busy.

Then I started thinking that I should not go home until everything is fine there. I’ve heard some nasty stories about Egyptian jail, and trust me, Russian jail would seem a paradise compared to it. So I had no intentions of going there.

I called my boss, just to let him know about the situation. He said everything should be fine.

I had the worst half an hour in my lifetime in Egypt.

Ten minutes later my boyfriend called and said that everything was fine. Apparently the policemen were looking for my landlord. They came to ask where he was and why he was not paying any taxes on income he gets from renting out this flat. Hmmmmmmm

So my boyfriend called the landlord who was in Paris at that particular moment. The policemen spoke to him for 10 minutes discussing something. My landlord asked to give them 300 Egyptian pounds (approximately $50). After they got the money they left.

Probably they came in looking for a bribe – you never know.

And here is a funny picture of a policeman by the Pyramids

Tourism Police by By Ed Yourdon

Tourism Police by By Ed Yourdon

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

Leave a Reply

