Freezing Cairo

Standard
Light Rain in Cairo, Egypt By Bakar_88

Light Rain in Cairo, Egypt By Bakar_88

Cairo is freezing these days. I haven’t been THAT cold for a long time. Who would have thought? The temperature remains stable: +15 during the day and +8 at night. The houses are not heated, well, they were not designed to keep heat in winter and stay chill in summer. Local residents do not seem to be bothered by the cold. It feels like the Russian autumn: it is not cold yet and the heating season has not started .

Some people around me suppose that if they stay in a heated room, and then go outside on the cold this will make them sick. Therefore, having a heater can be dangerous. The logic is similar to the following: some people believe that by having sex with a virgin they can be cured of AIDS.

Last year I was freezing in Hungary; I was too broke to afford paying for the Russian gas in Europe. I could afford switching on the heating for a couple of hours a day, however, it was very warm at work and at the university – so I was hiding there. here? I am freezing at work. Cairo is experiencing severe shortage of heaters at the moment: you cannot find them anywhere.

Offices in Cairo are not designed for heating, in fact people are not in favor of using the heaters. That is why people in offices wear coats, sometimes even gloves. People wear as many layers of clothes as possible. I bargained for a heater – so now we have one at the office, even though it is not strong enough to make any difference. Well, at least I can keep my hands warm – but this does not help with my constant state of hibernation.

I am also particularly annoyed by the general genuine misunderstanding of the fact that a girl from Russia (the coldest country in the world) is constantly cold here. Many people around me suppose that Russians are all frost-resistant by default. And I’m tired of telling them that many Russians wear t-shirts at homes during the winter since it is very warm in people’s homes. Instead, I began asking them in return: why are they (hot Egyptians) using air-conditioners during summers, because Egyptians [following the same logic] should be heat-resistant?? Although another post should be dedicated to the ways people use air-conditioners here …

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

Leave a Reply

