Only in Egypt

Standard

There are many things you can find only here. I guess local residents never even thought how random certain things are in here.

First of all, let’s talk about food. Only in Egypt you can find a sandwich with French fries or mashed potatoes in it. Egyptians also put beans in a pita bread and eat it, just like that.

Let me tell you about a special dish that Egyptians crave for: it’s called Kosheri. Kosheri is a dish of all kinds of carbs: lentils, rice and pasta. I will never understand how people managed to put all these carbs together. It is also made with garlic and tomato sauce.

Kosheri

Well, judging by the name I figured it was something Jewish. When I expressed my guess to the people at work they were all surprised and claimed it is a traditional Egyptian food. Wikipidea saysthe following:

Food enthusiast Sami Zubaida says that kushari is a variant of Indian kitchri, brought to Egypt by British troops in the early 20th century. Other theories suggest that Kosheri may have been popularized by Egyptian jews, stemming from their kosher dietary requirements.

I believe that this “food enthusiast” was just too ashamed to admit that this dish is of a Jewish origin and made up a story about its Indian background. People at work did not really know what Kosher means and I had to explain it to them. Some of them said they will not eat Kosheri any more, never again 🙂

I guess it is just a very cheap and extremely nutritious food. However, after eating this many people do not really feel well and need some time to digest.

Another example of a “Traditional Egyptian” recipe: macaroni béchamel. When someone first told me that it was Egyptian, I could not stop laughing.

Many more adventures to come …

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

2 responses »

  1. That’s a lot of carbs. I like carbs, but I like other stuff to eat with my carbs. Don’t most people smear mashed potato and gravy onto their dinner roll when presented with both at dinner time? I know I do.

    Macaroni béchamel is Egyptian? lol. Is it more the macaroni that is Egyptian or the béchamel?….or both?

    • you know I noticed here that people eat for the sake of eating. People are not enjoying the taste of food but rather the process.

      But yeah, mashed potato? Not in a sandwich, but with gravy 🙂

Leave a Reply

