My Russian Elections in Cairo

Standard

A lot of my Russian speaking friends on FaceBook are actively discussing the past parliamentary elections in mother-Russia. There was a lot of dirt, falsifications, provocations and other sad moments. I could not observe it without having an anger attack; therefore I already had a vodka drink next to me.

Well it all seemed like a tragedy to me: people were constantly reporting on violations, some of them got detained for illegal election agitation, others for protesting against the unfair elections. My country is in agony – that’s what I thought. My country surprised me a lot with this unexpected out break of disagreement with the election results.

Elections in Russia took place last Sunday. Russian elections in Egypt [sounds sick] were held on Friday, since Sunday is a working day in this country. Being aware that I might encounter countless obstacles on my way to vote, I went prepared. I printed out the piece of Russian legislation stating that a person who was abroad for longer than 45 days is allowed to vote on elections without absentee voting certificate. Well I am well aware that russian bureaucracy is known for its bizarre and obscene rules. I even had a camera with me – just in case of some randomness. You never know …

Russian Embassy in Cairo

To my greater surprise, the local security guards let me in, they checked my documents and my bag and had nothing to say against my voting desire.

There were five people in the commission inside the Embassy, other Russians were coming in and out: people were voting. Even though I don’t have a local residency permit [it is still floating in some bureaucratic corridors of Egypt], they allowed me to vote.

On my way out I had a chat with the security guards, asked them on the number of people voted. They were friendly and told me everything I needed to know. Many people voted, how many? I have no idea. I guess everyone who wanted to vote did so. I was shocked that nothing happened to me in the Embassy and Russians there were friendly, normally I avoid any contacts with the embassy and its people at any cost.

However, it is not normal that I expect people in Russian embassy to be rude, it is not normal that I expect them to trick me and go there all prepared for a fight. Well I’d rather be prepared than go there and be defeated. You never know what nonsense they might impose on you the next second.
In the meantime, Moscow was in agony and people went on the streets. Masses disagreed with the results of unfair elections and went protesting.

It never happened before. After Mr. Putin took over the country no one could imagine this kind of protest happening in Moscow, people were rather cynical about the possibility.

And now see what’s happening. Inspiring. Encouraging

police against the protesters in Moscow by Ilya Varlamov

for more images from Moscow click here and here

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

Leave a Reply

