On Tahrir

Standard

Policemen threw pepper sprays on protesters. Protesters equipped with masks threw it back on policemen.

Since I don’t have a good internet connection at home and cannot really follow what’s happening on Tahrir today, I cannot watch livestreaming Al Jazeera, let me tell you what happens in my life in relation to Tahrir.

Well Egypt is on fire. Egypt is in pain and I personally admire this nation for all the courage that people have shown these days.

What surprises me the most is the following: imagine the same scenario of a revolution in Russia [well no need to imagine, let’s just go back in time to 1917, or a little bit earlier], what would happen? A scenario of a “take away and divide” – all the oligarchs and anyone who has anything valuable will lose it in a second. What happened here on the eve of the revolution? Those with money and some power went on the streets with protesters and escaped the fate of being expropriated [using Lenin’s terminology]. This is impressive. Clearly Mubarak and top officials found themselves in a troublesome situation, but there was no vandalism on the streets of Cairo.

What’s happening now? People get killed, people get injured, but they still go there. They organize donation boxes and medical aid points, they coordinate the protest and stay on Tahrir no matter what. I notice more and more commonalities with Russia the more I see what’s happening here. Russians are like bears: unless they are in some serious, severe, real pain they can ignore some minor difficulties and wounds, unless you get them real angry by pocking their eyes with a stick – they might keep sleeping. Only then, when a bear wakes up, blind, seeing things with one eye, those with a stick will regret the moment they started this whole game. The same happened here: Egyptians suffered a lot, incredible poverty, little investment in infrastructure and healthcare, deteriorating life conditions of ordinary people and a lot of lies. And here is the outcome: the nation said ENOUGH and went protesting on the streets.

To be honest I did not know that something was happening on Tahrir yesterday. I’ve spent the entire day by the Pyramids and smoked sheesha downtown. Only on the way back home someone called and said that something was up on Tahrir again. My mum got scared this morning and was panicking a lot. But this city is soooooooo big and the area where I live is really safe, so that I did not even sense the difference.

I hope everyone stays safe tonight, and the Tahrir nightmare will end soon. I wish no one would get hurt. Egyptians truly deserve the best in this country.

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

One response »

  1. I’m interested to see how this is all going to pan out in the light of the recent UC Davis and until recently, the OWS protests in the US. Mainly because the Arab Spring was supported by the American media, who are now having a black-out on their own protests.
    I wonder how the US will react to new flare ups in Egypt….

Leave a Reply

