Flat-adventures

Standard

Here is one hilarious story. Actually maybe more than one.

For some bizarre and unexplained reason I find it easier to be friends with males here. I don’t have that many female friends: two or three tops. Every day, after work I feel tired and lazy. I am lazy to go anywhere, so sometimes I need to sit on my balcony with a glass of something and smoke something else. I have a pretty spacious apartment and due to the fact that I am lazy I prefer inviting friends over: sit on the balcony and have a drink or two.

So here comes the fun part. The door lady downstairs has some issues with me [i.e. single female] inviting my friends [mostly. males] upstairs. I can picture her wondering what we are doing upstairs. Anyways. This is my flat and I pay a substantial amount for it. Therefore, I feel I have a legit right to do whatever I want: put posters on the walls, move furniture around and invite my friends of any gender for a drink.
This lady downstairs once did not let one of my friends in, so I had to take a 14 floor elevator ride downstairs, pick him up and go sit on my balcony. Another time I forgot my phone at home and went home during my lunch time with a friend who decided to join me. The door lady was furious: she initiated a verbal fight with my colleague from work on my moral standards and stuff. Her main point was that the landlady did not want any males upstairs in that flat, that she [door lady] does not really care of what’s happening upstairs.

AHA! So it was a landlady’s secret plan! After this incident some people got yelled at, some other people changed their testimony. Later on the landlady showed up at my flat all apologetic, not speaking English and me not understanding Arabic. She basically put the whole blame on the door lady and posed innocent in this entire story. She said something like: “I told her: she is a foreigner – she can do whatever she wants to, she can invite men over.” Hmm the point is: I can invite people over not because I am a foreigner but because I am a HUMAN being and am renting this place. Ugh. So screw this terrible tradition and people who should be minding their own business. I understand that I annoy many people around me. Imagine a single woman living on her own! This is outrageous – poor thing!

In the meantimeб Masha received two most beautiful roses with basil wrapped together, and this girl feels pretty happy at the moment…

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

Leave a Reply

