Indian food in Cairo

Standard

Butter Chicken and Naan By Joshua Rappeneker

Due to the shitty internet situation at my apartment I don’t have regular internet access, therefore I am not writing here every day like I used to and like I promised to myself.

Well this time I would like to tell you another food-related story. Next day after the bazaar experience I had a date in a restaurant next to it, called Taj Al Sultan: Moroccan/Indian food. I have not had Indian food here since I arrived. Butter chicken was just simply perfect that night. I did not mind having a glass of wine, but this is too much to ask in this country. We substituted wine for sheesha. I have a strong feeling I will become a chain smoker here, I smoke this sheesha too much and too often. [my momma will not approve ; )]

I remember going to Most in Budapest this summer with Bill. Ordering Indian food in Most is a torture; even though the waiters speak English and some of our friends spoke Hungarian miscommunication was present at all times. Ordering Indian food and asking them not to put sour cream on top of it was a real hard mission for a waiter to fulfill. Since Hungarians put sour cream in every dish they make it is hard for them to comprehend that someone might be lacto intolerant.

Going back to Cairo: I was charmed that night. The restaurant’s roof top offered us a nice view on the bazaar, we could still hear remote sounds of habibi songs mixed with typical city noises. Waiters were nice and curious at the same time. This country does not support PDA, so we had to restrain ourselves and behave, even though it was really hard. Such a significant change for me: from Hungary, where people of all ages kiss each other in metro and cafes [well, not all of the time you really enjoy watching it] to Egypt, where even holding hands is not allowed in public.

The food was marvelous, but I could not even eat half of it. So we took the leftovers with us. But we both were stupid and left the food box in a car over night, well it later on was announced the food did not turn bad.

Missing you all guys, Most, cider, Thai food, White Beer with Egupova, Russian lessons with Bill, coffee and cigarettes with Magnum-the-cat, cooking sessions with Emily and summer Budapest in general.

And yes, Bill, we need to have a proper Skype session some time soon.

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

One response »

Leave a Reply

