Egyptian bazaar and some very old cafe

Standard

Khan El Khalili By bonnieann1815

This was one of the best weekends I had in Egypt so far. I am finally falling in love with this country and its people. It is all about meeting the right people and going to right places.

First of all I want to tell you about the local Bazaar called Khan El-Khalili. This is exactly the type of bazaar I was dreaming to see in Cairo. Sure thing I needed to go there with someone local in case I wanted to buy anything: silver or golden jewelry with traditional ancient Egyptian and Arabic patterns, belly dancer equipment, hookas/sheeshas and some other exotic stuff. Sales people are pretty much similar to those in China: trying to rip you off and are eager to bargain. There are many beggars on streets offering people some handkerchiefs and lighters. Street music: Arabic melody with constant repetition of the word habibi. Charming smell of spices and freshly squeezed juices mixed with cafes and people smoking sheesha. This bazaar seems simply magical, as if the scenery was taken from some old fairy-tale. I could walk there for hours looking for some nice things for my house and presents for friends.

Mint tea By Iman Mosaad

Later on we went to a very old traditional café with mint tea and strange pomegranate drinks. Interior of the café is simply impressive: ancient mirrors and wooden crocodiles on the walls, antique chairs and metal midget-tables with henna artists and fake watch sellers sneaking around. Loud people and excitement: all over the place.

Many people ask me why I moved in here, well now I know that I moved here to see places like this old café and a crazy bazaar. To experience all this and get some understanding f what life looks like here.

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

One response »

Leave a Reply

