Capoeira happy

Standard

Roda by By Ben30

I skipped my writing session yesterday. Well, I wanted to write something on Copt Christianity here, but decided to change the topic this morning.

Yesterday I had my old life back. Not that it was old, shabby and boring – to the contrary: it was happy and a laughing one. And I was shining and was typical self, as Lucas describes my sense of humor as rude, bare and blunt – so that was me yesterday. And I found some people who were laughing along and enjoyed my mean jokes. So that was simply brilliant.

I went to my first capoeira class in Cairo. First of all I could not find the place and the teacher did not pick up his phone, so I called 15 times unless he did. In the meantime, my female friend and I were standing in the middle of the street for 20 minutes under the constant men surveillance, cars and mini busses running around. That was intense. But nothing could spoil the pleasure of the good capoeira class.

The teacher was very patient and the students were from all over the world and with different capoeira experience. There were more than 20 people in the class: everyone extremely friendly and smiling. Our roda lasted for more than 40 minutes and local kids were glued to the gym’s windows clapping and watching us play. After the training we all chatted for a while and I met some really nice people who live on the same street. Coincidence? A good one I would say. We laughed all the way back home. Had a 20 minutes’ walk in Nasr City – they proved me that there is nothing I should be afraid of. Marvelous

Capoeira part II to follow tomorrow. Even though I am all sore right now, I can’t help but smile. : )))

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

Leave a Reply

