On customer services and being bossy

Standard

Baba ghanoush By kochtopf

I had a very nice and pleasant evening yesterday. We went to some very authentic Egyptian sea food restaurant. I decided I wanted seafood pasta. Well it was huge. The prices were ridiculous, I was expecting to pay at least 50 USD for the whole meal we had, but it turned out to be 15 USD for both of us.

I don’t like the local customer services in restaurants. I am demanding and hate to wait for hours and get cold food, or when they bring a plate for me and another plate for my friend in half an hour. The presence of a screaming TV annoyed me in this little restaurant. My date was on the phone when I decided to go and ask for the TV to be less loud. Sure thing the waiter did not speak any English. So I started explaining with gestures: TV [finger on TV] is loud [pointing at my ears and crossing my hands in a kaput gesture]. Can you make it less loud? [playing with my fingers as if I am trying to lower the sound]. And he goes: Ok Ok. He clearly waited for me to leave and happily forget about my request. Well this was not gonna happen: I kept staying there pointing on TV until he killed the sound. Victory.

We ordered an incredible dip called Babganouk [aubergine with tahina], they normally serve it with fresh warm bread. Our waiter brought the dip and no bread. So after TV situation was cleared out I told him I needed some pita bread. He did not get it. Then is said: Babaganouk and made dipping gesture – that’s how I got the bread. Lol

My date finished his telephone conversation and looked at me surprised: why are you so mad? I am not mad – I am bossy.
Later on a family of parents and 4 kids occupied the table next to us – right in front of the TV. They all were glued to the flat screen. They also did not appreciate the fact that I kept laughing out loud and talking in my typical manner while wearing a miniskirt.

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

Leave a Reply

