on seafood and social norms

Standard

Shawarma & Quickie Mart, Zamalek by Chrispitality

Nothing special happened to me today. I guess I am getting used to the environment around me. To be honest I’ve never been in a society where I feel like I am judged on my gender on the first place. I never think of myself as a woman, I always think I am a human being, a person. A person who has the same rights and opportunities like everyone else. A person, who might not care about make-up and some other things that advertisers try to sell us. Yet I live in the society and sometimes use its norms for my own benefit: looking good gives me the power to get what I want. Playing stupid is also a nice mechanism to circumvent difficulties and find help. I am not sure if it all works here. I don’t know what’s good or bad anymore. Social norms are different and people are sexually frustrated in general. I feel like I am some sort of an exotic fish for them with ginger hair.

I am still fascinated by the local variety of food: I had two amazing “sandwiches” with fried calamari and shrimp today for a ridiculous price of 13 LE (2 USD; 450 HUF). It was not a real sandwich: just a lot of seafood in a pita bread with babaganouk (aubergine spread with tahina). I am a bit worried about the sanitary conditions of food preparation process. And my stomach tells me that I should be careful or it will rebel soon. And I should take this warning seriously.

Tonight I will try out the Thai place somewhere in Cairo. You know Thai food is even better than sex…

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

Leave a Reply

