Clashes in the city

Standard

“If religious ppl could be reasoned with, there wouldn’t be any religious people” Dr. House

Inside a coptic church in old Cairo by askii

The new week has started. First working day of the week: I wake up, do exercises and drink coffee. Since my internet is bad – I cannot watch Euronews. I have some TV at my place – but never even was curious to turn it on. So the big ugly black box is just sitting there, collecting the dust.

And I came to work, and it started: people, my friends were asking if I was ok. So I googled what happened. I was not even aware that something was going on in Cairo. The city is way too large and I live on the outskirts: way too far from the city center. Way too far from anything, but close to the airport.

So what I see in the news? Clashes, death, fights: Christians killing Egyptian military officers and vice-versa, demanding their religious rights. People got run over, panic and mess in the city center. Does not it sound familiar? I guess history of humanity is full of such examples, or even worse. Some news report at least 39 people dead and many injured, others claim 20 dead, whom to trust? Broken lives and even more hatred. So this is what religion is about?

BBC reports: “Correspondents say that many Muslims came out to defend Christians from the security forces and protest against the military’s continued hold on power.” Are they trying to make it sound like less of a religious issue now? Or is it just me who does not get it?

If only people stopped this religious insanity and stopped proving each other who is wrong and who is right. There are so many problems around us: hunger, poverty and despair. Why fight over religion, ruined churches and built mosques?

I am bailing on Rania, who wants to meet me at Zamalek for a walk. I am scared to take a taxi at night on my own. Maybe I would feel more comfortable if I spoke Arabic. But ah well, I don’t. So I would need to study hard.

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

