Cleaning day

Standard

Cairo By Bakar_88

Well, today was my cleaning day. The ruined day. Destroyed.

I was expecting them to come by 10 am. I was expecting it to last 2 hours tops. Well, hell I was wrong.

I have this cockroach situation in my kitchen, so I needed someone to come and clean this terrible mess. I know it might sound a little bit overrated but I am truly scared of cockroaches and I am paralyzed when I see one. So I simply could not open the cupboard because I knew they were there. I needed someone fearless.

My landlady came with a girl who looked like she was 15. She turned out to be only 12. A tall cute girl, smiley face and very curious eyes. They started the cleaning procedure. As I said, I was expecting it to be fast, since I wanted to go to the park. However, my expectations were totally wrong.

These ladies took out my windows and washed them in the bathroom. The floor was flooded; they cut open two beds in the second bedroom and revealed all the mops and buckets. I did not even know this stuff was there. They washed the floor with incredible amount of soap. I feared the neighbors downstairs would come complaining about the flood. They tried to take all my bed linen to the dry cleaning. I clearly did not get why, since I have a washing machine at home. They cleaned everything but the walls. The entire procedure lasted for 5 hours. I made them coffees and offered water. The cockroach situation got a lot better but I fear I would need to repeat this procedure in a month when I have some extra 5 hours. We re-arranged my living room so it all looks nice now.

This 12 year old girl was incredibly sweet: she also wore this black religious dress and a headscarf. And I thought of my Moscow niece: the same age. Making her clean up her room is the torture for everyone around her. Making her do the dishes is even worse. Yes, I definitely cannot imagine her cleaning any apartment.

I feel like some bourgeois imperial pig … hmm

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

One response »

  1. I totally sympathize—I’m tempted to do the same with the spider situation. I have the same thing with them you have with cockroaches. I do like mopping my floors though–this cleaning soap they have here smells like heaven so I might have to do it more than twice a week since it smells so nice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

