Beeping language

Standard

Ezbet El Nakhl "main bus station" by Flickr user Creap

I was planning to write this for some time.

I am trying to get the philosophy of drivers here. And I fail miserably. Hmm

Like I said before I live on the 14th floor and could not fall asleep the first night I arrive. I am used to quiet Budapest with my windows facing the courtyard and not the busy street. Well to be honest there are not that many busy streets in BP. My sister’s flat in Moscow is on the 23rd floor and I remember hearing the road as well. However, Moscow was different. Drivers in Moscow do not beep in vain and for no particular reason. Here in Cairo, I believe the drivers have their own secret language of beeping. I have no idea why they “talk” to each other in such a manner. Why someone needs to beep when standing in a huge traffic jam. The traffic itself is simply insane here. Sometimes drivers decide to make a U turn on the one way road and go against the main traffic. Hmm… ME not understanding that.

I don’t know how the car operates, how to drive it and stuff. Well I never needed to learn this stuff. I prefer using public transportation or biking somewhere: first of all it is eco-friendly in many ways and saves you from drinking and driving at night. The level of pollution in Cairo is high since many people have very old cars that do not function properly. Well, everyone around me says that I should not use the public transportation here due to high risk of sexual harassment. I am sure one day I will try it out.

People generally beep at me on streets – no surprise, I am a foreign woman with ginger hair wearing heels. Taxi drivers try to give me a ride and beep; horny men also try to attract my attention all the way. But there is no mercy for them: Gotan Project in my headphones on maximum, dancing tango in my head. I am thinking of my 4 Lamas in Lima and how peaceful it might be over there. [Hello Alex!!!] I still have zero camels on my account here – or men are not offering camels for marriage any longer? : )

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

Leave a Reply

