Sugar Cane and Hungarian words in my head

Standard

Sugar Cane Juice by Flickr user indi.ca

I am adapting. Slowly but sure thing I am. I hope my English will not get retarded here. I started using local accent for fun, I hope that this mocking exercise will not turn into my everyday language. I am good in picking up accents.

In some café: I would like to get some peach smoothie pls. – “Bich Zmuuuuziiiiie?????” – hahaha

“Ze prinder iz nod workingggg” – the printer is not working

I started saying “Halas” – that means something like stop or enough! I already feel that there will be more words of this kind that I will start using soon.

Hungarian words are constantly popping out. When I go to any store or buy anything in some small street shops I always want to say thank you in Hungarian. The problem is that Hungarian thank you or “köszi” means pussy in Arabic, which is somewhat misleading. So that’s why I got a very strange reaction from sales people and in restaurants. Two years of living in Magyarország do not go away that fast. I still try to be nice and say viszlát on my way out of any store.

What I love here is the amount of exotic fruit. So today I tried the freshly quizzed sugar cane juice – never tried such a thing before. I have a feeling that I am drinking a sweet corn with a straw. Incredibly sweet and taste like a pure starch. I am drinking this small glass for two hours already. I remember living in another country in the Middle East and we loved buying fresh orange juice before going to the local beach. Sweet memories. I hope they have orange juice on the beaches here as well.

Update: they said I had to drink this sugary thing asap since it goes bad really fast. Ugh. Waaaay to sweet

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

One response »

  1. Love reading your posts. I remember trying sugar cane for the first time back in California–yes it is sweet. Here, sugar is made from beets. But I bet you already knew that. 😉

    The ginger in the background looks good. I bet some of that grated into some fresh sugar cane juice would be a nice treat.

Leave a Reply

