Accident in the airport

Standard

So we went to the airport to meet a friend. Sure thing, locals will never get tired looking at me: no matter what I wear.

Cairo airport by Flickr user archer10 (Dennis)

And I was with a good male friend of mine there. To cut the long story short, we were standing outside smoking. The night was hot, the air was humid, people were all running around like crazy, elements of insanity are always there: next to you. Nice evening, I hugged this friend [I know that this is provoking] and he seemed he was uncomfortable with me doing this in public: tried to gently move away. Ah well, who cares? I don’t!!!!!

I knew that people were watching, they all do, but I kept hugging the guy. So it all ended up in a public scandal. Out of the blue a guy next to us started yelling at my friend in Arabic. Hilarious! He was telling him something like: “When I see a sin, I tell it is a sin. Look at her! What is she doing? This behavior is unacceptable!” and a lot of other blah-blah things (as if we had sex in public or something). So my friend freaked out and yelled something in return. Clearly I am a woman, so no one talks to me. WTF???? This insane person was talking to my male friend only and totally ignored the fact that it was ME who started this entire thing up. Haha. Well I think that would be more logical to tell me that I was wrong and not to my friend. But, again, I am a woman = some little retarded creature. The guy who works at the airport tried to reason with the angry man and apologized for his behavior. That was sweet of him.

After everything was over, and we left the battle field, my male friend was extremely pissed, while I was extremely excited. This whole thing kept me thinking. Norms and rules that shaped in a long period of time are not that easy to break and change. However, it does not mean that equality and tolerance are something impossible in this society. Who will change it, if not us? Not us, here and now? Feminist movement did not start up in one day and did not achieve a lot in one day either. It is a long and sometimes painful process for the society.

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

3 responses »

  1. I support your rights–but think: what if you did this in Saudi Arabia, or Iran? Let’s just say the consequences would be so dire, G-D forbid. A la Wizard of Oz style, you’re no longer in Kansas…or Budapest. 😉

  2. Well, I agree that what that man did was out of respect.. But you knew you were in a country where people have some restraint upon some acts, so why try to provoke them?? Why drive them to have a grudge against you?!!

    And by the way, that man doesn’t represent the Egyptian manners; I bet that most of people there at the airport have thought that “your friend” was your husband if not your brother! And as you see, I’m a female Egyptian and I do speak my mind out loud and no one could ever argue with me about that right! Again I see some bias here, please don’t judge using that single “accident”!

    My last advice to you, please try to stay out of troubles and you’ll always find helpful and friendly people and treatment.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

