Cairo here I come

Standard

This how you would see Cairo from Azhar Park. by Flickr user Alhussainy

Prior to my arrival in Cairo I have heard a lot about the city and country’s traditions. However, people had different impressions and opinions about the city: some tried to scare me off, others to encourage.

From the very beginning I was terrified by the fact that Cairo has a male dominated society, where women walk in headscarfts, and no feminism exist there. It was also said that I could not wear short skirts and sleeveless shirs. In fact, things are not as bad as they are being portrayed. Today I went to a store, spent hours there and nobody was staring at me, even though I wore a summer dress.

I am told that there are three possible options to get to my new work: to drive, to use public transportation or live close to work and walk. Soooooo the first two options are clearly not for me: I don’t know how to drive and using public transportation is risky, unless you want to be sexually harassed. Therefore, I am left with only one option: live 5 minutes away from the office. My new flat … hmm is a different story.

I’m accustomed to the great system of public transportation in Budapest: night buses, metro and trams are incredible. I also walked alone at nights and it was safe and fine. Now I have to say goodbye to this habit of walking everywhere, I cannot even dream of a bike here.

About Masha Egupova

I am coming from the small city on the Russian Far East called Vladivostok, but Chinese call it 海參崴 [Hǎishēnwǎi] meaning "Sea Cucumber Cliffs." In my blog I will present the view from and about Vladivostok and my views on what is going on in Russia in general.

Leave a Reply

